Blessings Poured Out

In our society the idea of having oil poured over my head
Until it runs down on the beard, and drips onto my collar
Nearly makes one shudder.

But I’ve come to love this image.
Of course we’re talking about anointing,
Which was a common ritual of the time.

But what if the oil is God’s blessings?
Suddenly the shudder reaction
Is replaced with anticipation.

I see God lifting a pitcher
And pouring out blessings
And keep on pouring.

It lands on my spiritual head,
Runs through spiritual my hair,
And drips to my spiritual collar,

Down my shoulders
And arms
To drip from my fingertips.

And everyone I touch
Receives some of the blessings
God is pouring over my head.

This idea nests in a scripture
About God’s people living in unity,
Raising the idea of a river flowing from a unified community.

If, as a believing community,
We find ways to live peacefully with our differences,
And people see how we love each other,

I can see God pouring blessings over the roofs of our churches,
I see the blessings drip from our eaves,
And flow into our communities.

How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!
It is like precious oil poured on the head, running down on the beard,
running down on Aaron’s beard, down on the collar of his robe. Psalm 133:1-2

2 responses

  1. Enjoyed your picture of oil being poured and the slow descent to every part of our body. You and Monty have truly blessed many during your ministry here.

    Like

    1. Katy, thanks for checking in. I like the “slow descent” image. Thanks for the kind words but I suspect it is Monty and I who benefited most. Blessings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

