Today’s Peacemaker

Matthew 5:9

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

God, you are the author of peace.
And the nature of Christ’s work was reconciliation.
As we become engaged in that work
We are reflecting your Son’s presence in us
And thereby are honored by being ‘called sons of God.”

But to be a peacemaker is not without cost.
Your work which brings us peace cost Christ’s life.
Active peacemaking costs me the pain of entering struggles,
The responsibility of listening without judgment, of pointing the way to you,
The pain of my apology when I’m wrong, or pointing others the way to forgiveness.

God, I know there will be conflict, for wrong resists right.
As best I can I resolve that I shall not be the source of conflict,
But through the work of reconciliation I will try to resolve conflict.
By applying your principles and love I become a peacemaker.

Leave a Reply

